Patient safety culture can be described as how an organization’s cultural norms support and promote patient safety. Organizational values and beliefs impact not only patient safety, they also impact employee engagement, teamwork, and communication. Since 2012, the Minnesota Hospital Association has facilitated the Hospital Survey on Patient Safety Culture with over 50 organizations. Statewide data and quality improvement strategies will be highlighted and a hospital’s organizational plans to improve a patient safety culture will be reviewed.

Lori Skinner, DNP, RN

Quality and Patient Safety Clinical Specialist
Minnesota Hospital Association

Lori Skinner, DNP, RN is a quality and patient safety clinical specialist at the Minnesota Hospital Association (MHA).  Prior to joining MHA, Ms. Skinner worked as a registered nurse assisting patients and families in navigating the healthcare system.  She has also published a nonpunitive incidence reporting model.  Ms. Skinner received her BSN from the University of Nebraska Medical Center and her Doctorate in Nursing Leadership at the University of Minnesota.

Rose Davila

Quality and Process Improvement Specialist
Minnesota Hospital Association

Rose Davila is a Quality/Process Improvement Specialist at Minnesota Hospital Association, working in the areas of informatics. Prior to joining MHA, Rose was a Sr. Project Manager with Ambient Consulting, working with payers on report and model development and other IT solutions. Ms. Davila holds a B.A. in Biology & Women’s Studies from St. Olaf College and is completing her M.S. of Health Services Research, Policy, & Administration at the University of Minnesota, School of Public Health.

Greg Ruberg, MBA, MAPT

Lake View Hospital

Greg Ruberg is President/CEO of Lake View Hospital in Two Harbors and Vice President of St. Luke’s Hospital in Duluth, MN. He has a Master of Business Administration and Master of Arts in Physical Therapy from The College of Saint Scholastica. Greg served as Region 2 chair of the Minnesota Hospital Association from 2014-2017. He was elected to the MHA Board of Directors effective January 1st, 2018. He is also a member of the American College of Healthcare Executives.